Winter Poetry

Hey, guys!

I’m in this group called American Heritage Girls, a Christian scouting organization. My troop recently had an award ceremony (I got five badges, two fun patches, and two service stars!), and I decided to show you all some of the work I had to do to get the badges. We’ll start with the Creative Writing badge.

I absolutely love writing, but the Creative Writing badge took forever to complete. Seriously, I finished it on the same day as the award ceremony! The requirements just weren’t fun.

Anyway, today I’ll be sharing the poetry I had to write. I had to write three poems, all different styles, about the same subject. I picked winter as my topic, because I l-o-v-e winter and there’s lots of material in that season to write poetry from.

I’m not a poet and I’m definitely not very good at it, so that’s why the lines are all different lengths and stuff. *deep breath* Here we go!

The first one is an acrostic poem. btw, none of my poems have titles.

Warm, cozy fires, embers aglow.

Icy wind, a frost giant’s breath.

Nighttime, snow drifting past stars.

Treats abound, cookies to candy canes.

Escapists delight upon receiving new books.

Remember the excitement of Christmas Eve.

*****

The second one is a rhyming sequence poem.

On Monday, the skies let loose buckets of snow.

            The sun glinting upon it made it seem to glow.

Tuesday’s harsh sunlight caused the snow to melt.

            We stayed inside and made scarves out of felt.

On Wednesday morning, fog descended to the ground.

            Snuggled under blankets, I slept safe and sound.

Thursday’s light snowfall looked like dusting a cake,

            which reminded me that I had cookies to bake.

On Friday the rain made the day last forever.

I helped Father fix the wooden nutcracker’s broken lever.

Saturday’s wind was dreadfully cold.

            Bundled in layers, I stepped out the door, being very bold.

On Sunday the cold froze over the pond.

            We went down to skate, and I lost my fleece hat, of which I was quite fond.

*****

The last one is in the clerihew style — a silly four-line poem about a person.

The White Witch

drove her sleigh into a ditch.

The wheels froze from her anger

and she turned her horses into coat hangers!

*****

I hope you enjoyed reading my poetry, even if it was really bad. Poetry is not my strong point :/

~Loren

5 thoughts on “Winter Poetry

  1. Peace says:

    Actually, these poems are pretty good. Hey, have you ever heard of storybird.com? You would love it! It’s a storytelling site, and you can choose art for it too! Super easy, super safe, and you can read other people’s stories in the library. :-)

    Like

What's on your mind?

