Cooking Macarons — FAIL

You see pictures of French macarons floating around everywhere, right? Well, I decided to see what all the fuss was about and make some myself!

source

Keep in mind that this is what macarons are supposed to look like.

I followed this recipe: French Macarons Recipe

DSC_0609

These are the macarons that I made. Awesome, right?

Ha.

Haha.

Yeah, right.

FAIL.

DSC_0605

The cookies didn’t really turn out right. While the macarons did form feet, they didn’t puff up, as you can tell. I’ve never tasted a macaron that wasn’t a fail, so I don’t know  if the cookie part is supposed to be light and fluffy; but let me tell you, these macarons were crispy. And chewy.

DSC_0602

We didn’t have a filling, so we kind of improvised with whipped cream. It tasted good, but it was weird . . .

DSC_0610

The cookies were all shaped strangely, too. I just piped them onto a wax paper-covered tray without a guide to make them circles, so they all got elongated and stuff.

Some of them had swirls of blue food coloring in them, too.

I bet my macarons would have turned out better if I’d had almond flour and super fine sugar. Since I didn’t have those two ingredients, powdered sugar and ground up almonds were used instead.

Wow, that failed so badly xD

Have you ever made macarons?

~Loren

7 thoughts on “Cooking Macarons — FAIL

  1. Storyellow says:

    Haha! Well, you tried. That’s what counts. Now you know that there aren’t any substitutes in French baking…

    Like

  2. Emma (Wack-A-Doodle-Dolls) says:

    Oh gosh! That sounds terrible (and also really funny!XD)! I think that almond flour is probably really important! It helps with the fluffy consistency (at least, that’s what I think)! You’ve made me want to try baking macarons!;)
    -Emma-

    Like

  3. Devin says:

    I’ve never made macaroons, but now I want to. :) I have super fine sugar but no almond flour – I guess I’ll have to see what happens with coconut flour! ;)

    Like

  4. samanthadolls says:

    No offense… But yeah fail.. Now picture this:
    A girl with powdered sugar all over the place and mounds of dirty dishes in the sink. Lots of sugar and where batter blobs all over the counter. The piping thing broke magically and the girl somehow managed to get batter underneath her apron.
    And that is how that would have worked out if I tried to make these.
    -Samantha

    Like

    • Loren says:

      It did fail pretty badly. xD If I’d used exactly the right ingredients, maybe the macarons would have turned out better. I guess I’ll just have to try making them again some time!

      LOL. As you have seen, I’m not a very good cook, either. :P

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

