What I’m Reading — October

Hey, guys! I thought it would be fun to show you all what I’ve been reading lately (and what I’m planning to read), so I gathered up a bunch of books and decided to do just that :)

DSC_1771

Unstoppable, book one: Nowhere to Run by Jude Watson: read.

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, book one: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan: reading.

The Kane Chronicles, book one: The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan: reading.

The Kane Chronicles, book two: The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan: TBR.

The Adventures of Robin Hood by Paul Creswick: TBR.

Hatchet  by Gary Paulsen: reading.

The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron: TBR.

Artemis Fowl, book five: The Lost Colony by Eoin Colfer: TBR.

Secret Series, book five: You Have to Stop This by Pseudonymous Bosch: read.

Diary of a Mad Brownie by Bruce Coville: reading.

The Land of Stories, book four: Beyond the Kingdoms by Chris Colfer: read.

39 Clues -- Unstoppable series -- Nowhere to Run -- Jude Watson

I’m going to start this post by showing you the first book in the Unstoppable series, Nowhere to Run by Jude Watson. It’s in the third series of 39 Clues books. The books are written by lots of different authors, and this one just happened to be by Jude Watson.

I’ve read this book before, but I’m rereading the 39 Clues books so I got it out again. My brother and I were huge fans of this series for a long time, but we kind of stopped reading around the time the third Unstoppable book came out.

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard -- The Sword of Summer -- Rick Riordan

The Sword of Summer is the first book in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series by Rick Riordan. It came out several days ago, and my mom bought it for me because I’m broke and she loves me ;)

I’m 184 pages in, and, like all of Rick’s books, it’s awesome. It’s fast-paced, with interesting characters, and, of course, the amazing use of Norse mythology. Oh, and Annabeth from the Percy Jackson series is in it, though she’s only a minor character. One thing that made me really happy was that when Magnus was describing her, he noted that an orange T-shirt was peeking over the top of her jacket! Annabeth’s Camp Half-blood shirt! ♥

Kane Chronicles -- The Red Pyramid -- Rick Riordan

The Red Pyramid is the first book in the Kane Chronicles series, also by Rick Riordan. I haven’t read much of it yet, because I was reading it when The Sword of Summer came out. As soon as I got the Magnus Chase book, I immediately put The Red Pyramid away so I could work on that one :) But, like most of Rick’s books, The Red Pyramid has hilarious chapter titles. The main characters, Carter and Sadie Kane, have an intriguing family and are really funny.

Kane Chronicles -- The Throne of Fire -- Rick Riordan -- and The Adventures of Robin Hood by Paul Creswick

I’ve yet to read the second Kane Chronicles book, The Throne of Fire (yes, I do have a lot of Rick Riordan books in my library xD), and The Adventures of Robin Hood by Paul Creswick.

Hatchet -- Gary Paulsen

I have to read Hatchet for school, and I can’t say I’m enjoying it. Just the fact that it’s a school assignment takes some of the *cough cough* excitement  out of the story. On the back cover it says that Hatchet is “the survival story with which all others are compared.” I honestly don’t understand that. The main reason I dislike this book is how the author repeats things so often. Take, for example, “He ripped at it until it released and somehow — the water trying to kill him, to end him — somehow he pulled himself out of the shattered front window and clawed up into the blue, felt something hold him back, felt his windbreaker tear and he was free. Tearing free. Ripping free.” Anyway, the author just repeats stuff a lot and it really annoys me.

The Higher Power of Lucky -- Susan Patron

I haven’t read The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron yet, but my mom and brother have, and they told me it was weird. Most Newberry Award books are weird, I guess.

Artemis Fowl -- The Lost Colony -- Eoin Colfer

I’m looking forward to reading the fifth Artemis Fowl book, The Lost Colony! The first and second books in the series were ROUGH (terrible and boring, but they did set up the story for the following books), although I really enjoyed the third and fourth books.

Secret Series -- You Have to Stop This -- Pseudonymous Bosch

I’ve read You Have to Stop This by Pseudonymous Bosch once before, but I’ve been rereading the series, so that’s why I got it out of the library again. The whole series is wonderful, funny, and, I admit, nonsensical, but still awesome! The main characters, Cass, Max-Ernest, and Yo-Yoji have a really entertaining relationship, and they get into so much trouble it’s  hilarious xD

Diary of a Mad Brownie -- Bruce Coville

I told my brother that he should read Diary of a Mad Brownie, and I’m pretty sure he thought the book was about an actual brownie — like the kind you eat. I informed him that the brownie was Scottish and I don’t think that helped matters at all.

So, no, the book isn’t about a brownie-that-you-eat, it’s about a brownie-that-cleans-your-room. The brownie, who is almost one foot tall, is called Angus Cairns. He has a fierce temper. I’m almost done with the book (cue the sobs), and it’s a great read. It’s very creative, and Angus and the girl whose room he is in charge of cleaning get into entertaining arguments all the time.

The Land of Stories -- Beyond the Kingdoms -- Chris Colfer

The last book I’ll be telling you about today is Beyond the Kingdoms by Chris Colfer. It’s the fourth book in the Land of Stories series, which is about Alex and Conner Bailey (twins), who find their way into the Land of Stories, where fairytale characters live, like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Sleeping Beauty. In this particular book, they have to follow one of their enemies, the Masked Man, through different stories, like Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Peter Pan. It was a great story, although I must say I dislike Alex (who is actually a girl :o )more and more with every book. Just a warning to anyone who is thinking about reading this series: beware the cliffhangers!

Have you read any of these books?

~Loren

38 thoughts on “What I’m Reading — October

  1. Rebekah says:

    I read the 39 Clues and the Vespers Vs. Cahills series and looking back the books now really creep me out even though I read all of them….. to much backstabbing and death. LOL! That sounded really weird:)

    Like

    • Loren says:

      ikr? Like, every book, at least one person dies. And in the first series especially, everyone betrayed each other. Oh well, it made for some exciting stories!

      Like

  2. Geeky_Girl says:

    No I haven’t. I just finished reading the 1st Percy Jackson book! I also have read a book sorta like the land of stories it was called The Sisters Grimm. Awesome book!! :)

    Like

    • Loren says:

      Did you like the Percy Jackson book? I stayed up reading really late when I read The Lightning Thief!
      Hmm . . . I think I’ve heard of The Sisters Grimm. Who is it by?

      Like

      • Geeky_Girl says:

        It’s by Michael Buckley!! And yes I LOVED IT!!! The ending was a such a plot twist. The movie is nothing like the book :( Have you ever read the Harry Potter Series those are good too!!

        Like

        • Loren says:

          OK! I’ll have to check it out. Movies are never like the books, are they? Did the movie follow the same plot as the book, or did they come up with a totally different story for the same characters?

          I’ve never read Harry Potter because my mom didn’t like the use of magic :/ But my brother asked her to consider reading them (and perhaps approving them), so there is a chance that I may be able to read them sometime :)

          Like

  3. Kayla says:

    OMH M6 GONDALIERS THE LAND OF STORIES!!!!??!!!!!!!!!!!/€=:€^$€/;*×3€€”*:*£/ IM ON BOOK 3 AND I HAVE BOOK 4 AND MY FRIEND READ THE RED PRYAMID!!!!!!!

    Like

What's on your mind?

