Decorating the Gingerbread House

01-DSC_0051

It’s a tradition in my family that my brother and I decorate a gingerbread house with my Nana and Pop-Pop around Christmas. This year, we made a gingerbread manor!

02-DSC_0052

Here’s the walkway. I think we did a really good job on this part!

03-DSC_0055

This is the front of the house. See the wreath up above the windows? It’s pure sugar! Yum!

04-DSC_0060

I put pretty holly leaves on the roof. :)

05-DSC_0062

I added a cool vine growing up along the side of the house!

06-DSC_0065

My brother decided to make it a haunted gingerbread manor, so he put a ghost cat in the window. :P

07-DSC_0069

His Nincompoop Toilet-drinker-ness, as my brother is known on this blog, made a spider web, complete with a large green spider, on the side of the house.

08-DSC_0070

Look, it’s the side of the house.

09-DSC_0073

On the other side of the house, I drew a bat out of yellow icing. Isn’t it just lovely? The prettiest bat you’ve ever seen?

No, I didn’t think so.

10-DSC_0077

On the roof, we made . . . this thing, that is apparently supposed to be a chimney.

11-DSC_0080

*coos* Pretty roof . . . Aren’t you a good, pretty roof . . . Yes, you are! You really are!

12-DSC_0082

The front of the gingerbread manor is so bright and cheery. I’m sure you wouldn’t expect to find THIS on the backside, eh?

13-DSC_0084

I even made graves!

14-DSC_0088

Then, of course, there are these people on the roof. My violent brother set them up.

15-DSC_0090

I think he might be dead . . .

16-DSC_0092

Why art thou so oblivious to the soul-chilling cries of thy kin?

Wait — do you have a knife? HE HAS A KNIFE, EVERYBODY EVACUATE!

01-DSC_0051

Ahh . . . so beautiful . . .

December/Christmas blogging challenge

{Image belongs to Kathryn}

Did you make any Advent resolutions? how are they going?

Nope. I did not make any Advent resolutions — I, in fact, do not know what that is.

Cheerio.

What’s on your wishlist this year?

I did a post about my Christmas wishlist. You can see it HERE. However, I have added some more items since then!

via

A Books-a-Million gift card.

via

River’s journal (from Doctor Who).

I know that my friend Issy just got me a TARDIS notebook. And while it was very kind of her, I still want River’s journal.

Candy canes — yay or nay?

YAY, CANDY CANES! I LOVE YOU SO MUCH, YOU SWEET LITTLE PEPPERMINT-Y . . . THINGS! ♥♥

via

I could do a whole post with pictures of candy canes, but you’d probably hate me if I did. Not everybody shares my affinity for elf culture candy canes.

BTW, I watched The Force Awakens yesterday — it was really good! BB-8 is adorable, is he not?

winter1(snowflakes)

I can’t believe Creating Worlds Writing Camp is almost over . . . it still feels like I just announced it! Can I just say that you guys are terrific writers?

28 thoughts on “Decorating the Gingerbread House

  1. Megan (A Barefoot Gal) says:

    I love your Gingerbread manor! Usually it is a lot more fun to make than to eat-ours is always stale by the time we take the courage to actually destroy our beautiful work of art. Those people are very cute, dead or not! I love that vine, by the way. :D
    YES! DO A WHOLE POST ON CANDY CANES!
    Did you know that in the three days (or was it two) that The Force Awakens was out it made more money than any movie has ever made on its opening week?
    CWWC almost over? It can’t be! It was fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. littlehouseofamericangirl says:

    You guys did a great job!!
    And actually, I’m sure I’d love a post all about candy canes!! They’re BEAUTIFUL!!! Ooh… I should eat a candy cane today…
    BB-8 IS AMAZING!!!! He’s my favorite droid! *SPOILERS FOR PEOPLE WHO HAVENT SEEN TFA* Didn’t you love when he hung his head down when he was sad?! And the little thumbs up!!! AAAH!!!
    *END OF SPOILERS*
    I can’t believe CWWC is almost over! It makes me kind of sad to be honest. It’s been so much fun :D
    ~Jaclynn~

    Like

    • Loren says:

      Thanks!

      Hehe, I’ll have to see what I can do about that, then. :)

      I just about DIED when BB-8 gave Finn the thumbs up! It was so adorable! ♥

      It really has been fun! Just keep in mind that I’m going to do CWWC again, with brand new prompts and more awesome teammates! I guess it’s going to be a bittersweet end of writing camp.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. K.A. says:

    I just ‘LOVE’ your chimney! :D :D XD XD It’s cool! What’s up with you guys always being first commenters…..like Megan,on this post……???? I’ve seen it several times!

    Like

  4. Allison says:

    Such a beautiful and… uh… unique gingerbread house! XP You’re right, the walkway is very pretty, and so is the roof! I absolutely LOVE the picture of the chimney. It is gorgeous with all of the sugary goodness and bokeh in the background.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Clara says:

    That is an amazing gingerbread house! I especially like the walkway and the roof (not the part with the violent gingerbread men scene…. XD )

    I would appreciate a post on candy canes…

    *sobs* CWWC, over already?!? I want it to last forever! Or maybe not, so I can see who wins… When will the next challenge be? :)

    Like

  6. Storyellow says:

    This whole post had me grinning- not just on the inside!
    I thought I was the only one who called my granddad pop-pop. Ha!
    I LOVE CANDY CANES! Especially soft ones!

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

