My NaNoWriMo Project

I’m participating in NaNoWriMo again this year (my username on the YWP site is SecretKeeper001), and I’ve been trying to figure out which story to work on (I’ve got loads of ideas). Today, I picked one: I’m going to be writing a novel about a girl with depression.

Why? You see, in my homeschool co-op, I have a class called MAD — Making a Difference. Our assignment these past two weeks was to choose a problem we’re passionate about and come up with a solution. I chose mental illnesses.

After writing down how mental illnesses are problems (mostly how people treat those with illnesses) comes the hard part: solutions. It had to be something doable. I thought, What am I good at that could make a difference? and came up with writing a novel. Yeah, it is doable.

I don’t know entirely what the novel is going to be about, but at least I have a month to figure things out! I’m going to write it from the POVs of a girl with depression and a boy with social anxiety. One chapter would be told by the girl, the next by the boy, and so forth. The boy will be a stranger at the girl’s school who notices her scars.

I’m really excited to write this novel, because if I get it published, I think it could help lots of people realize that mental illnesses are a real problem.

Also, I need some help with this project. Is there anyone who has depression/social anxiety, and is willing to talk to me about it? In order to write a realistic novel, I need to know more about what it’s like to live with depression/social anxiety. If anyone is willing, email me at happyhouseofag@gmail.com, please.

Loren

48 thoughts on “My NaNoWriMo Project

  1. Dylan Greene says:

    Hello Loren. I was only going to reblog your post since I needed a blog post for today. However, upon reading the contents of your post, I found I can also assist you in this endeavor. I will send you an email specifically addressing your needs, so keep an eye on your inbox.

    Like

  2. Luke Does Stuff says:

    Loren, hi. Great that you’re doing NaNoWriMo! I’m doing it to, and like you I’m doing mine from the perspective of mental illness. It’d be great to chat a bit about how you’re going to do it. I’ve loads of info and experience of things like depression and anxiety so could help you out there – we’re all in it together :)

    Like

  3. brandilyngilbert says:

    What a wonderful idea on how to make a difference. I think stories have a way of humanizing mental illness that all the PSA campaigns in the world can’t accomplish. As someone who both writes fiction and advises college students who are often struggling terribly with issues from depression and anxiety, particularly stemming from the incredible weight of expectations and pressure on their shoulders, I’m doing a standing clap for this project! Go you!

    Like

  4. Wright Writes says:

    That’s awesome! I love your idea and I think it will bring awareness to these kinds of issues. It’s great to see fellow NaNoWriMo writers on here. I hope it’s going well so far! :)

    Like

  5. Lexie says:

    Hi Loren!

    I’ve been waiting to hear how it went, but you haven’t posted anything about it recently. How did it go? I think this is a wonderful project, and I want to read the book when it’s done.
    -Lexie

    Like

What's on your mind?

