Beautiful Books

beautiful books

In preparation for NaNoWriMo, Cait from Paper Fury is hosting Beautiful Books. It looked fun to me, so here I am. :) I’m going to be talking about my NaNoWriMo project, which is currently being called Courageous Hearts.

What inspired the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

In my co-op class “Making a Difference,” we were supposed to pick a problem in the world and see how we would fix it. I chose mental health and decided to write a novel to raise awareness. I’ve only had the idea for this book for about a week, but I’m very excited to make it a reality.

Describe what your novel is about!

*chokes on spit* Don’t ever ask a writer what their novel is about, please.

Um . . . it’s about two teenagers with mental problems navigating their way through life and helping each other along the way. idk.

What is your book’s aesthetic? Use words or photos or whatever you like!

 :

via

 :

via

via

 :

via

 :

via

I think the feel I’m going for is sad and lonely, yet hopeful.

Introduce us to each of your characters!

Skylar Wolff:

via

This is one of the MCs, Skylar Wolff (who suffers from depression). She’s fifteen. She has long chocolate hair, gray eyes, freckles, and usually has circles under her eyes from lack of sleeping. Her hobbies included drumming, hiking, skateboarding, listening to music, and later photography. She can be stubborn, secretive, lazy, and disconnected, but she’s also very accepting of others and inventive. Skylar lives with her mom (Kristie), Dad, (Jeremy), and eleven-year old sister (Leona).

Austin Keats:

via

My other MC, Austin Keats, who has social anxiety. He’s sixteen, but had to repeat a grade, so he’s in Skylar’s class. He has auburn-brown hair, hazel eyes, and is really quite tall. Austin enjoys playing guitar and drawing. He’s caring, persistent, and observant, but is also indecisive. He lives with his mom (Emmaline) and Dad (Samuel).

Brisa Rey, Skylar's best friend.:

via

The last character I’ll be introducing is Brisa Rey, Skylar’s best friend (who is also fifteen). She’s short, has naturally curly raven hair, and onyx eyes. She likes helping animals, biking, shopping, and babysitting. Brisa is dramatic, enthusiastic, chatty, and sometimes bossy. She lives with her divorced mother (Paulina), two older brothers (Ricardo and Sebastian), and her goldfish Greg.

There are more characters, of course (like the characters’ families, their English teacher Mr. Penguino, etc.), but I haven’t fleshed all of them out yet.

How do you prepare to write? (Outline, research, stocking up on chocolate, howling, etc.?)

I will definitely be stocking up on dark chocolate. I foresee lots of staring at the blinking cursor.

What are you most looking forward to about this novel?

I’m excited about writing a morbid scene, and I would say what it is, but I don’t want to give away the whole plot. ;)

List 3 things about your novel’s setting.

I guess the three main settings are the high school, the skate park, and the lake.

What’s your character’s goal and who (or what) stands in the way?

I think Skylar’s goal is just to survive, and Austin’s goal is to help her overcome her depression. Their mental illnesses are the antagonists.

How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

Ooh . . .  much emotional change. The severity of Skylar’s depression will change a lot, and I think Austin will be slightly more confident.

What are your book’s themes? How do you want readers to feel when the story is over?

I know it sounds kind of bad, but I’d actually like the readers to be kind of sad when the book is over. I’m hoping that it will connect with them emotionally.

Loren

13 thoughts on “Beautiful Books

  1. Olive says:

    ooh, I want to do this! my na no book is star wars fan fic though, so it’ll be difficult to find pics for it. :P
    Most crazily, ~Olive

    Like

  2. Madison (Delightful World of Dolls) says:

    Once again, the idea of your novel is amazing! This was super interesting to read, and I’m really excited for your novel! I know, like always, it will end up incredible. :D
    •Madison•
    P.S. I didn’t mean that I always know everything, but that your writings are always incredible. 😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mrs. Rankin says:

    I’m eager to see you persevere through to a difficult goal. You can do it! Please let me know how I can assist.

    Like

What's on your mind?

