// swimming hole ft. a girl with mossy rock eyes //

salutations. :) my mom took den mother and me to neat swimming hole on thursday. i brought my camera, of course. here are the pictures, in a more or less random order.

there’s something sad and lovely about dying flowers.

butterfly fren. :)

there was a rope swing, and you had to climb up the face of the rocks to reach it. i was too short to grab ahold of the rope, so we had to find a stick for me to use as an arm extension. what we really needed was a tall person to use as a ladder.

my mom thinks that the rocks at the swimming hole look like animals. she found one last year that has an uncanny resemblance to a trout. b and i poked around for a bit and found this one, who is apparently a giraffe. his name is jeffrey the giraffe and he is the love of my life.

my name’s blurryface and i care what you think.

we were trying to be artsy and it totally failed. we should just stick to being losers.

skipping stones.

this is a rock and his name is gloria.

i tried to find a rock that matched her eyes.

we were having a competition to see who could make the biggest splash with a rock. i was planning on cheating and throwing her in.

she was writing a love note in the dirt. :)

the sun made tiger stripes on the rocks.

we were trying to cross one spot of the river, and we came up with some creative ways of doing it. originally, the plan was to stand on a large piece of bark and paddle/pull ourselves across with a stick. then we tried making a bridge. finally, b offered to give me a piggyback ride so i wouldn’t have to get my feet wet (yes, i’m aware that i’m a loser). it was only when we were crossing the river the second time that we realized we could both just walk across.

the sun was shining the entire drive to the swimming hole, but once we got there, a bunch of clouds popped up out of nowhere. waiting for the sun to come back out, we wandered around and photographed the wildflowers. once it had warmed up a little, we got into the swimming hole, which was absolutely f r e e z i n g. we found a couple of warm spots and huddled there until the current moved them elsewhere. we were comparing “tans” (which is in quotation marks because we are both extremely pale), and my shinguard tan is amazingly striking when underwater. my thighs are kind of tan, but everything below that is incredibly freaking white. shinguard tans are probably the worst thing about soccer. and we did this race, where instead of swimming or running, we bounced along the river on our butts.

we are not the most mature people.

i had seen pictures of the rope swing online, and that’s how i knew it was there. the swimming hole was kind of shallow that day, so jumping into it on a fraying rope tied to a dead branch was probably not the smartest thing i could have done, but i’m an idiot, so i did it anyway.

i didn’t wear a bathing suit (another brilliant idea, loren!), so even after we had been out of the water for awhile, i was still damp and shivering. while i was looking through the pictures b took of me, i realized that a) my lips were nearly blue, and b) i look like gollum when my hair is wet.

my mom set up a picnic (because she’s a genius), and i got some very  interesting pictures of b kissing a skittles bag. i might post them some time, but she has a lot of blackmail on me, so that might not be the safest thing to do with said pictures. but i definitely won’t delete them. :)

after we ate, b gave me a piggyback ride across the river, where we tried to skip stones and complained about the lack of tall people. really, though, most of my friends are scarcely more than five feet. it would be funny if i weren’t 5’2″ myself.

i’d love to go back to the swimming hole sometime, preferably when it’s hotter, so i don’t spend the whole time freezing. i need to remember to pack a tall person next time, so they can reach the rope swing for me.


a not-very-funny joke told many times that day:

b: why is it so cold here?!

me: because of your heart.


xo

loren

35 thoughts on “// swimming hole ft. a girl with mossy rock eyes //

  1. izzy/mason says:

    and i’m the kid who has like a zillion photos on her camera yet CAN’T UPLOAD THEM because i lost the adapter for my camera’s SD card. oh fun times.
    it would honestly be fun if i was there– i’d probably break a bone or something there but that’s okay, right? oh and we could’ve screamed out MCR together xD
    -izzy/mason-

    Like

    • loren ☾ litost says:

      i guess there’s going to be a huge photo dumb when you get a new one, huh?

      i thought i was going to break my ankle every time i used the rope swing. den mother likes mcr, too. we could have used someone as tall as you. XD

      xo loren

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lila Red says:

    Guess what, Loren? I’m 5’8″! One of the few tall teen girls in this world, I suppose. I don’t know if I’d like you packing me up for a trip to the river, though :D

    I love your “life” posts! That one about when you and pup went shopping and tried on horse masks was so much fun to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. olivehiddenhollow says:

    ooooh, fun! I love the pictures of water <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3
    that race sounds like something I would do. XD
    I thiiiiiiink I'm 5'2"???? I don't remember. somewhere around there. I look a bit taller though because I'm constantly walking tip-toe. :P
    Most crazily, ~Olive

    Liked by 1 person

  4. brooke@foodandfunstuff❤️ says:

    those flower pictures were so pretty! I’m 5″0 and would love to have 2 extra inches!
    xoxo-Brooke Jade :)

    Like

  5. Rutvi says:

    Don’t pack me next time you go there, I’m short. Like, 5 feet short. Ugh. Shortness sucks.
    XD

    I love the photos. Den mother’s red hair and her eyes are quite beautiful :)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mckenna says:

    hey fren, i’m 5’8″ XD

    kissing a skittles bag….that sounds like her.

    HAH you both pale. i’m like a little brown indian over here. actually i wish i were little. i think it would be extremely amazing to me small. you could have so many tall hugs from people. i love tall hugs so much. there was one person who could actually deliver..but that’s not happening anymore. *shrug*

    ☾☼

    xenoloser

    Like

What's on your mind?